Slovenia, with only two million inhabitants occupying an area of 20,000 m2 contains three climatic regions, four geographic regions and three wine regions. The human scale diversity includes the enchanting capital Ljubljana, the alpine setting, the Adriatic coast, health resorts and various beautiful historic towns.

The Republic of Slovenia lies at the heart of Europe, where the Alps face the Pannonian plains and the Mediterranean meets the mysterious Karst. To the north it borders with Austria, Hungary is to the east; Croatia to the south and Italy to the west.

Slovenia basics

Area: 20,273 km2

Population: 2,046,976 (1 January 2010)

Capital city: Ljubljana

Language: Slovenian (also Italian and Hungarian in nationally mixed areas)

Religions: According to the 2002 census most of the population (58 %) are Catholics. Altogether there are 43 religious communities registered in Slovenia.

Spoken languages: most Slovenians speak at least one foreign language, mainly English

Currency: euro (since 1 January 2007)

GDP per capita: € 17,331